Short-term rental rules in Denver
Licence required. A yearly night limit is not stated on the official pages we read.
Rules covered: Denver Revised Municipal Code short-term rental license (Council Bill CB16-0262, amended by CB20-0240 and CB20-1229). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Licence required Short-term rental business license from the City and County of Denver Official wordingAll short-term rentals must have a license. | www.denvergov.org read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Primary residence only Host may have only one primary residence Official wordingAny short-term rental must be the host's primary residence. | www.denvergov.org read 2026-10-02 |
| Yearly night limit | Not stated Pages read state no limit on nights and do not say none exists | — |
| Renting the whole home | Not stated Pages read do not state explicitly whether renting the whole primary residence is allowed | — |
| Lodging tax | 10.75% of the rent Denver lodger's tax; State of Colorado 4% sales tax on lodging also applies, giving 14.75% total as stated Official wordingThe DRMC imposes lodger's tax in the amount of 10.75% on every person exercising the taxable privilege of | www.denvergov.org read 2026-10-02 |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings Business license number on all advertisements Official wordingAll advertisements must display the host's business license number. | www.denvergov.org read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |