Short-term rental rules in Montreal
Permit required. Yearly night limit: 31 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note).
Rules covered: Ville de Montreal permit to rent a principal residence to tourists; Reglement sur l'hebergement touristique; Quebec Tourist Accommodation Act (CITQ registration). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Permit required Annual operating permit (permis d'exploitation) issued by the Ville de Montreal; CITQ registration certificate also involved Official wordingVous devez obtenir un permis d’exploitation, et ce, chaque année. | montreal.ca read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Not stated Permit covers only principal residences, but non-principal rentals are possible in certain areas with a certificate of occupancy, so no single answer. | — |
| Yearly night limit | 31 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note) Principal-residence rental allowed only June 10 to September 10, total of 31 days or less in that period Official wordingLa location est autorisée du 10 juin au 10 septembre. Vous pouvez louer votre résidence à plusieurs reprises, que ce soit à la même personne ou à des personnes différentes, pour un total de 31 jours ou moins pendant cette période. | montreal.ca read 2026-10-02 |
| Renting the whole home | Entire home allowed Part or all of a principal residence may be rented, subject to several rules; see the official page. Official wordingIn the other boroughs, the short-term rental of part or all of a principal residence is subject to several rules and regulations. | montreal.ca read 2026-10-02 |
| Lodging tax | Not stated No tourist tax rate stated on the saved pages. | — |
| Number in listings | Not stated Pages require the permit to be displayed visibly from the street, but do not state a number must appear in listings. | — |
| Penalties | Not stated No penalties stated on the saved pages. | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |