Short-term rental rules in Paris
Registration required. Yearly night limit: 90 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note).
Rules covered: Ville de Paris rules for meubles de tourisme (registration number; change of use under Code de la construction et de l'habitation L631-7). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Registration required Mandatory online declaration with the City of Paris giving an immediate registration number. Official wordingThis mandatory declaration allows you to obtain a registration number immediately. This number must be included in all rental listings you publish. | www.paris.fr read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Not stated Second homes can be rented only with a change-of-use authorisation, and rules differ by premises; no single yes/no. | — |
| Yearly night limit | 90 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note) Applies to renting out the primary residence (limit 90 days per year). Official wordingYou can rent out your primary residence for up to 90 days a year. | www.paris.fr read 2026-10-02 |
| Renting the whole home | Entire home allowed A meuble de tourisme is an entire rental unit; primary residence up to 90 days/year; other properties need change-of-use authorization. Official wordingA "meublé de tourisme" is an entire rental unit that can be rented by the day, week, or month | www.paris.fr read 2026-10-02 |
| Lodging tax | Not stated Page only says to pay the visitor's tax; no rate or basis stated | — |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings Registration number must be included in all rental listings. Official wordingThis number must be included in all rental listings you publish. | www.paris.fr read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |