Short-term rental rules in Philadelphia
Licence required. A yearly night limit is not stated on the official pages we read.
Rules covered: Philadelphia Zoning Code 14-604(13) Limited Lodging; Bill No. 210081 (2021); Limited Lodging Operator License (Department of Licenses and Inspections). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Licence required Limited Lodging Operator License (L&I) for a unit with a primary resident, plus Zoning Permit and Commercial Activity License; Rental License with hotel designation for visitor accommodation use Official wordingYou need a Limited Lodging Operator License if you have a limited lodging use. | www.phila.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Not stated Limited lodging is for a primary resident, but the pages also allow 'Visitor Accommodations' use (no primary resident) in some zoning districts, so no single answer. | — |
| Yearly night limit | Not stated No annual night limit is stated in the saved pages. | — |
| Renting the whole home | Not stated Pages do not state clearly whether an entire home may be rented under limited lodging. | — |
| Lodging tax | 8.5% of the rent City of Philadelphia Hotel Tax, paid monthly by the host or operator Official wordingThe host or operator must pay the City of Philadelphia Hotel Tax monthly. The tax is 8.5% of the amount received through renting. | www.phila.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings Limited lodging operator must clearly display licence number in any advertisements; only a licensed booking agent may be used to advertise Official wordingClearly display their license number in any advertisements for the unit. | www.phila.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Not stated Pages mention violations and fines for noise but give no penalty amounts. | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |