Short-term rental rules in Portland, OR
Permit required. A yearly night limit is not stated on the official pages we read.
Rules covered: Portland City Code Chapter 33.207 Accessory Short-Term Rentals (Type A permit for 1-2 bedrooms; Type B for 3-5 bedrooms is a separate conditional use not covered here). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Permit required Accessory Short-Term Rental (ASTR) Type A permit from Portland Permitting & Development; valid two years Official wordingYou need a Type A ASTR permit if you plan to rent one or two bedrooms for up to five overnight guests. | www.portland.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Primary residence only Type A: resident must live in the unit at least nine months (270 days) a year; vacant or non-primary units not eligible Official wordingVacant units or units not used as a primary residence are not eligible. | www.portland.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Yearly night limit | Not stated Page states a residency requirement (270 days) but no limit on rented nights | — |
| Renting the whole home | Not stated Type A allows renting at most two bedrooms; page does not address renting a whole home | — |
| Lodging tax | 6% of the rent City of Portland Transient Lodgings Tax; Multnomah County 5.5%, a 3% Tourism Improvement District fee and a $4/night fee are also listed on the same page; operators register with Revenue Division Official wordingCity of Portland Transient Lodgings Tax: 6% | www.portland.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings Permit number in all advertising and posted in the dwelling unit Official wordingThe accessory short-term rental permit number must be included in all advertising and posted in the dwelling unit. | www.portland.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |