Short-term rental rules in San Diego
Licence required. A yearly night limit is not stated on the official pages we read.
Rules covered: Short-Term Residential Occupancy (STRO) Ordinance, San Diego Municipal Code Chapter 5, Article 10. The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Licence required STRO license (four tiers) from the City of San Diego Office of the City Treasurer Official wordingIt is unlawful to operate a STRO without an STRO license on or after May 1, 2023. | www.sandiego.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Not stated Page does not say hosting is limited to a primary residence; Tier 3 and 4 licenses are for hosts who do not reside onsite | — |
| Yearly night limit | Not stated Caps differ by tier (Tier 1: 20 days or less; Tier 2 host absence up to 90 days; Tier 3/4 minimum 90 days use) so there is no single answer | — |
| Renting the whole home | Entire home allowed Tier 2 allows host absence up to 90 days a year; Tier 3 (non-Mission Beach) whole-home licenses are limited in number (1% of housing units); Mission Beach Tier 4 closed Official wordingThe Host may be absent from the permanent residence during the whole home STRO for up to 90 days per calendar year | www.sandiego.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Lodging tax | Not stated TOT rate depends on tax zone (11.75%, 12.75%, 13.75% on page), so no single rate | — |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings Operators renting for STRO must include the TOT certificate number on all advertisements; whether the STRO license number must also appear is not stated on saved pages Official wordingbeginning May 1, 2023, Operators renting their dwelling unit for STRO will also be required to include the TOT certificate number on all advertisements. | www.sandiego.gov read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |