Short-term rental rules in Sydney (New South Wales)
Registration required. Yearly night limit: 180 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note).
Rules covered: NSW State Environmental Planning Policy (Housing) 2021 STRA framework; NSW STRA Register (applies statewide incl. City of Sydney). The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Rule | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or registration | Registration required All STRA properties must register on the NSW STRA Register via the NSW Planning Portal; $65 fee, renewed annually ($25) Official wordingAll STRA properties must register on the STRA Register. | www.planning.nsw.gov.au read 2026-10-02 |
| Primary residence only | Not stated | — |
| Yearly night limit | 180 nights per year, applies to a specific case (see the note) Applies to non-hosted STRA only (host not living on premises), in the Greater Sydney region; counted within the 12-month registration period; bookings of 21+ consecutive days are exempt from the day limit Official wordingNon-hosted STRA is currently restricted to a maximum of 180 days a year in: the Greater Sydney region | www.planning.nsw.gov.au read 2026-10-02 |
| Renting the whole home | Not stated | — |
| Lodging tax | Not stated | — |
| Number in listings | Number must appear in listings STRA property ID number must be displayed on the online property listing Official wordingYou'll be issued with an STRA property ID number, which must be displayed on the online property listing. | www.service.nsw.gov.au read 2026-10-02 |
| Penalties | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |
| How to register | Included in the $29 city report. See the report | — |